Social Media tools to help start a small business

Posted on Updated on


With all those social media tools out there it is hard to decide which one is best for you to use for your business. Is your business small? Do you see it growing or do you want it to grow to where you will eventually get an office or move out of the one you are now and can hire more people. Some tools that I have come across on seem to be very useful, especially if you are just starting out and want to be successful in the social media pool. I am not that familiar with Twitter but just recently I am trying to learn what all you can do or who you can follow.  I like to know what is going on in the world while at the same time I want to know what is the latest gossip on some of the Hollywood stars. But most of all I like to continue to learn about new marketing tools to use and how to use them successfully. Now these two social media tools I find very useful to novice’s like me. Managefilter is a very useful tool for someone who wants to use Twitter more efficiently, for example using this tool you can track to see who may have unfollowed you. With this I see a great retention opportunity; it could be a customer who was not happy with their most recent purchase or service they received. The last thing you want them to do is go and give bad reviews about you or your company. So with using Managefilter you can try using that tool as a retention piece and you can also sort your follows and following list by a range of criteria. What is also very helpful is you can find out when most of your followers are online and schedule tweets appropriately with a power post feature. To me that is a great tool to benefit from, if you are having a very busy day and don’t have a chance to tweet about a special you are doing for the next day or an important update, you can schedule them to be posted without you even needing to log in or using your app on your phone for Twitter.

Another great social tool is the Tagboard, you can search or monitor keywords (hash tags) across multiple social media channels. For example I typed Healthcare because that is an industry I am very interested in and it got so many tweets or articles. What makes it even better you can reply right from Tagboard and not have to get onto Twitter or even Instagram. With this tool I see it being very useful for a small business as you can tweet something through your Twitter account then type if your hashtage and monitor it from a different angle or see what other businesses are saying about your same exact topic or get an idea of what your competitor is doing. There are so many social media tools you can use but if you are like me and just starting to learn all what you can do with Twitter, these would be a great start!

4 thoughts on “Social Media tools to help start a small business

    Millie Brence said:
    October 25, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    Great review of social media tools. I would like to see visuals to draw me in more and relate visuals with the application being discussed. Otherwise great and informative post!

    charlenesmithrn said:
    October 26, 2013 at 8:26 pm

    Laura,
    These are two tools that I may start out with being new to twitter myself. I first have to grasp the concept of a hashtag—I think just the name confuses me!

    Linda said:
    October 26, 2013 at 9:09 pm

    Interesting to know about Tagboard I will have to check on the search monitor with keywords (hash tags) on the social media channels. Thanks for the information.

    ldirenzo said:
    October 27, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    Charlene,

    What a interesting post! I truly had never head about the Tagboard but that is totally something I am going to start using when looking for interesting pieces of news and articles that relate to certain topics! I think your blog holds true that everyone wants the step outside the norm of google searches and social platforms such as tagboard would allow that for people to find the latest and greatest within a unique platform.

    LD

Leave a Reply

